The Bayeux Cathedral is of Normand-Gothic style. It was built in 1077 on the same site as previous churches, including the church where William the Conqueror made Harold swear an oath of allegiance to him. But only the crypt and part of a tower survive from the 11th Century, whilst other parts date from the 14th and 15th Centuries. Architecturally, it comprises some typically Normand elements, a facade with five sculpted portals and the nave is 102 meters long. In the Middle Ages, the famous Bayeux Tapestry was probably displayed in the cathedral.
Entrance to the Cathedral is free and daily guided tours can be arranged at a fee.
1/01-31/03 : 9 h00 -17 h00
1/04-30/06 : 8 h00 -18 h00
1/07-30/09 : 8 h30 -19 h00
1/10-31/12 : 8 h30 -18 h00
Le Château de Caen
The ramparts built in 1060 by William the Bastard, Duke of Normandy, over the river Orne were the start of Caen Castle and the outline they provided hasn't really changed in subsequent additions to the Castle. His son, Henry Ist added the Exchequer Hall, the Keep and St George's Church.
In 1204 Normandy belonged to France and King Philippe Auguste continued work on the Castle, in particular the fortifications. Work continued into the XVIth Century with François Ist adding a promenade along the ramparts.
Part of the Castle was destroyed during the XIXth Century, when the Castle was used as military barracks, with more destruction in the next Century during the Liberation of Caen in 1944.
Entry to the castle is free, although the castle houses 2 museums, the Fine Arts museum and the Normandy museum which cost €5 and €3 respectively.